Voting in Pabna 4 by-polls underway

Voting in Pabna 4 by-polls underway

Sep 26, 2020

Dhaka (Bangladesh), September 26: Voting in the by-elections to Pabna 4 constituency has started at 9am Saturday and it will continue till 5pm without any break.
Voting started in 129 centres of the constituency as a total of 381,112 voters are eligible to exercise their franchise, said Abdul Latif Sheikh, district returning officer.
A number of 2,301 presiding officers are on election duty, he added.
Election Commission took the highest precautionary measures to arrange a smooth voting experience.
Some 18 executive and two judicial magistrates, and eight platoons of BGB, RAB and police are tasked with holding the elections peacefully.
Abdul Latif further said maximum precautionary measures had been taken to avoid any kind of untoward incidents centring the vote.
The constituency fell vacant after the death of Shamsur Rahman Sharif Dilu, former land minister and the member of parliament of the constituency.
Then, the Election Commission announced the schedule of the by-elections.
Ruling Awami League's three-time elected chairman of Ishwardi upazila Nuruzzaman Biswas, Bangladesh Nationalist Party chairperson's adviser Habibur Rahman Habib, and Jatiya Party's Rezaul Karim are contesting the by-polls.
The Pabna 4 constituency consists of two upazilas (Ishwardi and Atgharia), two municipalities and 12 unions.
Source: Dhaka Tribune